Stitch Fix #1

Fashion Cards

These days I’ve been too busy to go clothes shopping. Even when I do have time to go shopping, I’d rather do other things (like binge on The Witcher). I’m not the type to wear much makeup or spend a long time getting ready in the morning. As a software engineer, my workplace is very casual. Most mornings I just throw on a t-shirt, jeans, and a hoodie, and I’m good to go. But I’ve been getting bored with the same old stuff every day and wanted to try some new things.

In comes Stitch Fix. I heard about the service from a coworker. These popular “monthly box” type companies are popping up everywhere. I’ve seen ones for beer, coffee, international snack food, art supplies, you name it. This one in particular spoke to me.

However often you choose, they will send you a box containing 5 pieces of clothing. You will be assigned a personal stylist, and they will learn your style from a long quiz you fill out when you sign up, as well as any Pinterest boards you may have. Also, you can send a note to your stylist before every “fix”, telling them the kinds of things you want in your next fix.

Here’s the pinterest board I sent them, which I’ll keep updating. It was fun to set it up, I don’t think I’ve ever spent this much time thinking about what I like to wear. Yay for spending hours on Tumblr and Pinterest! 😛

For my first fix, I told my stylist to send tees, tanks, and shorts since summer is still going strong here, and I don’t have a great selection in my closet other than graphic tees. I also suggested flannel/plaid (for some reason I’m craving it even though it’s summer). These were the contents:

Fisher Collared Top

Fisher Collared Top    Fisher Collared Top

This was a bit different from the tank tops I have in my closet. I don’t have any with collars, or in this particular cut. Once I tried it on though, I loved it! It’s just different enough that it’s fun, and similar enough to my style that it’s comfortable.

Verdict: Keep.

Jovani Twill Jacket

Jovani Twill Jacket    Jovani Twill Jacket

I have always loved jackets like this, but haven’t ever found the perfect one for me. This one felt like it was almost on the baggy side, but it was super comfortable. It seemed great for layering with hoodies in the fall.

Verdict: Keep.

Granada Crochet Back Panel Top

Granada Crochet Back Panel Top    Granada Crochet Back Panel Top

This one didn’t really match my style. After trying this it on, I realized I’m not a big fan of chiffon fabric. The cut was also on the flowy side, which I don’t really like. If it were a tighter fit and a more cottony fabric, I probably would have liked it.

Verdict: Return.

Sam Hi-Lo Short Sleeve Tee

Sam Hi-Lo Short Sleeve Tee & Cindie Linen Short    Sam Hi-Lo Short Sleeve Tee & Cindie Linen Short

The fabric on this was was really soft and comfortable, but I wasn’t in love with the cut. A little too loose and too asymmetrical from front to back.

Verdict: Return.

Cindie Linen Short

Fisher Collared Top & Cindie Linen Short

This one just flat out didn’t fit me. For some reason the waist size ended up a couple inches too big, even though the shorts did say they were the right size. Probably the brand runs a bit big or something. I also think I would have preferred shorter shorts. Did like the color though!

Verdict: Return.

Total spent after returning clothing: $150.

It was fun to get my first fix, and I found a couple of great things, so I’m going to keep going with this! Right now my schedule is set to about once a month. If you’re interested in trying it out, why not use my referral link? 🙂

Leave a comment